Junkies stole my chainsaw

You may or may not know that I do not live on the land where the Sapsquatch Sugarbush and my beloved sugarshack are located. I have been commuting back and forth to the farm for the last 8 years either by bus, my volvo (which met it’s demise during the final weeks of the 2014 maple season), with various volunteers and buddies. Transportation has been a perennial challenge especially when it has involved moving supplies and tools back and forth to and from the farm.

My neighborhood is pretty nice compared to a lot of places I can think of. It’s less than 10 minutes walk to work and downtown, two minutes from one of the best coffee shops in the country and close to my daughters school and family. It’s not a bad neighborhood, but sometimes bad things happen. My downstairs neighbor had her car torched this last fall. that was kind of a wake up call. Our house has been robbed a few times; bikes, computer, camera, groceries, even returnables are fair game to the thieves. Heroin has been on the rise in Ithaca. It’s cheap and readily available but it’s dangerous. Last month there were three OD fatalities in 10 days when a bad batch was circulating. It’s a drug that drives people to desperation, depravity, thievery and violence.  https://chainsawnoir.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/chainsaw2.jpg?w=598&h=436

I’ve been robbed before and each time it’s been a blow and the feeling of intense violation has been present, but it’s never been something as essential as my chainsaw. I use my saw all the time at the farm cutting wood leading up to and during each maple season to feed the fire which rages within my traditional wood fired evaporator. I use it off the farm to make ends meet during the off season. I get requests all the time for chainsaw work and it’s fun, it’s good exercise and it’s easy money for me. To be robbed of this essential tool is more than a violation, it’s an attack on my very being, my livelihood, my family and my children’s well being.

Right now, more than ever, I need your help. If you can, please consider making a donation and help me replace my chainsaw. It will make a world of difference not just to me and my business, but if you read some of the articles on this blog, you will get a sense of how many people have had positive experiences as a result of my passion for maple syrup. Here’s the link and thanks in advance!  https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/junkies-stole-my-chainsaw/x/365506

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Junkies stole my chainsaw

  1. sweetjoni says:

    Hey Josh,

    I’m so sorry to hear about your chainsaw. I can relate to that feeling of violation that comes with the burglary of an essential tool. Last February, my Harlem apartment was broken into and the thieves stole my nearly new laptop (I had saved for a year and a half to buy it). As a working writer, this has been a blow to my livelihood. I am hoping to replace the computer next year, if I can afford it.

    I believe in the good work Sapsquatch does for the community. You can expect a donation from me. Good luck with the chainsaw replacement and the 2015 season.

    Best,
    Joni Sweet

Leave a Reply

